Election Results



In accordance with the Academy of Management Elections procedures and the Careers Division By-Laws the 2014 Elections were held between January 2014 and May 2014. As is required an Election Committee was formed comprising members of the Executive - Jennifer Tosti-Kharas (San Francisco State University), Romila Singh (University of Milwaukee), Yan Shen (University of Victoria, British Columbia), Ans De Vos (University of Antwerp) and Julia Richardson (York University, Toronto). Julia Richardson Chaired the Committee as Immediate Past Divisional Chair.



Several positions were available:

  • Program Chair for (2014-2015)
  • Professional Development Workshop Chair (2014-2015)
  • Representative at Large (three vacancies; 2014-2017) 
  • Divisional Secretary (2014-2017)

We received several nominations for each position which was most encouraging but unfortunately due to other commitments some of the potential candidates were unable accept their nomination. Other nominees were ineligible according to AOM or Divisional Bylaws - e.g. you have to be a member of the AOM to be eligible. However, we still had an excellent field of candidates for all positions which bodes very well for the future leadership, strength and collegiality of the Division.

While voter participation wasn't as high as we had hoped (22% of members voted) it was encouraging to see the level of support for all of the candidates. Moreover this figure is just below the 'turnout' for the AOM (26%).

On behalf of the Careers Division Executive, the Election Committee would like to thank all of those people who took part in the election (nominees, those who  nominated people, and those who voted).



Program Chair:

  • Corinne Post, Lehigh University, USA

Professional Development Workshop Chair:

  • Bert Schreurs, Maastricht University, Netherlands

Representatives at Large (3 positions)

  • Andreas Hirschi, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Ariane Ollier-Malaterre, University of Quebec, Canada
  • Scott Seibert, University of Iowa

Division Secretary

  • Fida Afiouni, American University of Beirut, Lebanon

Once again the Election Committee would like to express thanks to all those who took part in the elections and to congratulate the successful candidates

Careers Division Election Committee (2014)

Copyright © 2013 AOM Careers Division